Tommyyay11's Blog


TGIS
April 25, 2010, 4:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

With the exception of all of my culinary associates and friends know one gets my schedule. When everyone else is off I am working feeding them after their day of work. No I cannot hang out tonight, I am working. I do not have a typical weekend. Sunday and Monday is a normal weekend for me and that’s if I get them back to back. In most weeks I do and I love that about where I work but a day here and there is nice as well. Please get that I’d love to do stuff and be able to hang out with friends but my schedule is the exact opposite of everyone else.

Work was good today. It was steady and moved right along. I love the 2-10 shift, I get to spend the day with my family and then go to work and come home do homework and it’s not too late to get to sleep. Since I get to go in at 2 I actually get to have breakfast and lunch at home. So I ate good for my meal times.

I ate the last of my fritatta for breakfast with toast and earth balance spread. Then for lunch I heated up a pasta alfredo with veges and grilled chicken. We had a portabella left over at work so I threw that on the grill with some balsamic vin. carmalized onions with red pepper flakes and pepper jack cheese on a toasted kaiser roll with L and T. Thats one of my favorite sandwiches. One of my favorite spices are red pepper flakes.

I started another batch of cashew cheese today. I love how easy it is and how good it is. It just takes time to soak and culture. It’s worth the 24 hours of waiting in between the processes. Monday it should be ready. Last Monday was a lot of fun. My schedule at work has changed a little to be able to go to the Dr. Apts so I have Wednesdays off and work Mondays. My boss is great and is really good at working with us to make sure we have off when we need it. Unlike most 5 day a week jobs a hotel is open 24-7 and we can work any of those days and if needed any time during those days.

I’d like to go to Trader Joes and get out tomorrow, but it looks like we might just stay in because of the weather. Lots of storms are coming. It’ll help the produce grow. I can’t wait for the farm markets to open. I have this sweet app called locavor that has all of the farm markets in the area and the produce that is in season and the proteins that are available from the farm. It’s cool.  I ate a fresh baby red romaine leaf and it was so tender and good just the other day right out of the ground. We’ve got some really nice fresh asparagus and green onions from Dave and Dee at work. I love the spring.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment